Leonard Cohen – Glastonbury 2008

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Man, I was at one of the first Glastonbury Festival, but I missed this one. As I recall David Bowie, Traffic and Melanie were there, very early seventies.
Still it’s quite a trip to go back for a festival. My days of tramping through mud are over I think.
Here’s a few reviews I found around the net. Sounds like it was the event of the year.
Hopefully the USA tour will be announced soon.
The Guardian says: A crowd-wooing selection of favourites from the master. He’s your man.
The New Musical Express says: The star started the song just as the sun was setting, and further delighted the massive crowd when he changed the lyric “I told the truth, I didn’t come here to fool ya” to “I told the truth, I didn’t come to Glastonbury to fool ya”. The crowd sang every chorus with Cohen, and gave him a massive ovation at the end, when he took a bow.
Gigwise.com says: Veteran performer Leonard Cohen praised the “angels born of the mud” during his performance a the Glastonbury Festival yesterday (June 29th). Cohen’s set on the Pyramid Stage was one of the highlights of the final day of the festival and comprised of a majority of his classic hits, including ‘So Long, Marianne’ and ‘Suzanne’.

And of course a big ups to routeoz, without who’s perseverance none of this would be appearing here.
Thanks man!

Suzanne

So Long Marianne

Hallelujah – with special adapted lyrics for Glastonbury

Comments
  1. marmitelover@mac.com says:

    I was in the front row for Leonard Cohen and it was a truly magical, almost religious experience…thousands of people singing along to hallelulah…
    report soon on my blog

Leave a Reply

