Southland Tales and other tunes

Posted: May 30, 2008 in music, Star Spangled Banner
Tags: , , , , , ,

A couple of nights ago I watched Southland Tales, I’m still not sure if it was a cult classic or a huge mistake. It was made in 2006.
It is a sci-fi thriller set in the future (2008) which makes it funny watching their take on what they thought Bush would be doing and what he is doing, nothing as usual.
The more I think about it, the more I think I liked it. Despite Bush.

And whatever you think of the movie I thought it gave Dwayne Johnson and Seann William Scott another chance to show they are actors and not characters. Dwayne has always impressed me for his acting, coming from that there “rassling” background.

I do tend to have a taste for weird movies. They don’t always have to have a beginning, middle and end for me. If it sets my brain to thinking it is good.
One of the big delights for me was to see Rebekah Del Rio again, she does a really different version of the National Anthem.

Rebekah Del Rio sings the Star Spangled Banner on board Baron Von Westphalen’s MegaZeppelin. Officer Ronald Taverner and Martin Kefauver steal an ATM machine. Backing her are The Section Quartet.

The Section Quartet – Sampler Video – ‘”The Worlds Loudest String Quartet”

The Section Quartet – “Undertow” (Tool cover)
Live at The Troubadour – West Hollywood, CA – August 27, 2007.
Recorded by Joshua J. Smelser

Leave a Reply

