Jacques Dutronc – Et Moi Et Moi Et Moi

Posted: May 1, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,


Jacques Dutronc (born April 28, 1943 in Paris) is a French singer, composer, and actor. He is married to the singer Françoise Hardy, as of March 30, 1981, with whom he had a son (Thomas Dutronc, born 1973, who is in addition a gyspy jazz guitarist). [Wikipedia]

Back in the early 60’s this was the only 45 by a French artist I owned, and I played the heck out of it.
I understand it was written as a tongue in cheek “protest” song.
But it was very popular with me and my mates back in the East End.
This is a live version from the 60’s when this was a hit originally.
Released in 1966.

And in case you have a problem understanding the French lyrics, as I do, then here is a translation via Babelfish

Seven hundred million Chinese
And me, and me, and me
With my life, my small at home
My headache, my psi
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Four twenty million indonésiens
And me, and me, and me
With my car and my dog
Its Canigou when it aboit
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Three or four hundred million blacks
And me, and me, and me
Which go to the burnisher
To the sauna to lose weight
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Three hundred million Soviet
And I, and I, and I
With my manias and my tics
In my p’ tit reads in goose feathers
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Fifty million imperfect people
And me, and me, and me
Which look at Catherine Langeais
With television at home
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Last nine hundred million bad cold the hunger
And me, and me, and me
With my mode vegetarian
And all the whisky that I sending
I think myself of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Five hundred million South Americans
And me, and me, and me
I is very naked in my bath
With a girl who clean me
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Fifty million Vietnamese
And me, and me, and me
Sunday with hunting for rabbit
With my rifle, I am the king
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Five hundred billion of small Martians
And me, and me, and me
As an idiot of Parisian
I await my cheque of end of month
I think of it and then I forget
It is the life, it is the life

Leave a Reply

