Andrew Johnston – Pie Jesu

Posted: April 17, 2008 in music
Tags: , , , , , ,


Britain’s Got Talent has started again with the 2008 version.
A bullied schoolboy who lives on a council estate has stunned Britain with his sensational voice.
Andrew Johnson, 13, was clearly nervous as he took to the stage on Britain’s Got Talent. But just like Paul Potts the year before, he left the judges in tears and won a standing ovation from the audience after performing the classical requiem Pie Jesu.
Visibly shaking, Andrew told the judges he’d been bulled from the age of six for singing, but he wouldn’t stop.
“I get bullied a lot at the local school,” he said. “My mates have been telling us to leave it because they don’t like that kind of music.”
He said he dealt with the bullies by “just keeping on singing”.
[via]

You can see in the clip here that the judges Piers Morgan (Celebrity Apprentice winner), Amanda Holden and even Simon Cowell were visibly moved.

This kid can truly sing! Totally awesome.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Andrew has a voice of an angel. I was shocked to hear the words of the song because I heard similar words when my wife worship in the Spirit (speak in tongues). Jesus died on the cross for our sins so that we may have peace with God the Father. “For God so love the world that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). Thank you Jesus! You have set me free from my sin.

  2. Abii says:

    Andrew has such an amazing voice. I Think he should of won. I cant help but cry when i mention his name because i feel sorry for you Andrew for getting bullied at your School. Dont worry I am here for you. I hope to buy your CD. Luv You.x

  3. Karla Goddard says:

    I am not sure how I came about seeing the British version of this show, but when I saw Andrew Johnston sing, I cried like a baby. This kid is amazing. I have watched it several dozen of times now, and I still get goosebumps. There have been some comments that Simon signed Andrew. I hope this is true because I would shell out the money to be able to hear him sing over and over again. Thanks for posting this blog!!

Leave a Reply

