We’ll Meet Again – Vera Lynn

Posted: January 11, 2008 in music
Tags: , , ,


For the Friday musical spot I thought I might get a bit sentimental this week.
For everybody who was around during and just after World War II this song will resonate.
Wikipedia has this to say: Dame Vera Lynn DBE (born 20 March 1917) is a popular English vocalist whose career flourished during World War II, when she was nicknamed “The Forces’ Sweetheart”. Among her numerous popular songs are: “We’ll Meet Again”; and “The White Cliffs of Dover”. She was considered one of the major entertainers during World War II.
I know I heard the song a lot when I was growing up and my playing fields were the bombed out lots of the East End of London. When I hear the song now it brings back many memories.

Leave a Reply

